Minnesota DWI/DUI and the Implied Consent Hearing
If you have been arrested on a DWI/DUI charge, you most likely received a "Notice and Order of Revocation" from the arresting officer. This form notifies you that your license is in the process of being revoked. Unless you request a hearing, often referred to as an Implied Consent hearing, within 30 days of receiving this notice, your license will be revoked.
Under Minnesota law, you have the right to request an Implied Consent hearing to challenge the state's right to revoke your license. In order for the court to accept your request for a hearing, the request must be in writing and must be filed with the court within 30 days of your arrest.
At the hearing, you will be required to challenge the revocation of your license on legal grounds. Due to the legal and technical nature of such challenges, it is in your best interest to obtain the advice and counsel of a qualified criminal defense attorney.
If you have been arrested on a DWI/DUI charge and would like information on how you may be able to keep your license, The Law Office of Carolyn Agin Schmidt can help.
Read more helpful articles on DWI/DUI in Minnesota.